Chapter 1 Answers to self-check questions

1.1 The three major blood cells are red blood cells, white blood cells, and platelets.

1.2 The three main areas of haematology are red blood cells, white blood cells, and haemostasis.

1.3 The major roles of the Biomedical Scientist in the haematology laboratory are analysis, data interpretation, quality, health and safety, and training.

1.4 4% of the annual healthcare budget is spent on pathology.

1.5 Blood transfusion.

1.6 The major roles of the professional body are setting standards of practice, accrediting degrees, providing professional qualifications, organizing a continuing professional development scheme, and assessing the competence of biomedical scientists.

1.7 Not all the information learnt during undergraduate studies will remain relevant during the course of a career, so healthcare professionals must undertake regular activities to update their knowledge and skills.

Back to top